We’re making an Assassin’s Creed game!

If you follow on Twitter or are friends with me on Facebook, you’re probably very aware of the latest big news in the world of Cheeese. And this time I’m not just over-dramatic, I swear! So what’s this awesome news that’s had me blabbering on and on about it at length? Well, it’s this: Ubisoft announced yesterday that my studio is developing an Assassin’s Creed game called Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China, which will be available as part of the AC Unity Season Pass.

It’s 2.5D platformer set in 16th century China and follows an assassin called Shao Jun – the name will probably be familiar to you if you watched the Assassin’s Creed Embers animated movie and/or are familiar with AC lore. As you can tell from the video below, the look is very stylized and takes inspiration from Chinese watercolour paintings. As you can tell, there are many features that should familiar to AC fans, but Shao Jun also has all-new skills and Assassin gear like the Jian Sword and the Foot Blade. Check it out:

http://assassinscreed.ubi.com/en-GB/news/news_detail.aspx?c=tcm:154-172943-16&ct=tcm:148-76770-32

First of all, to everyone who has been sending love Climax Studio’s way – thank you so much. Honestly, it means a lot to hear that you guys like what you see and I’m very very proud of the talented artists, animators, coders and so on who have been working on this game, because they’re the ones who really deserve all the credit. I’m just very grateful that I was given the opportunity to part of a studio that works on quality products like this. It’s crazy to think that a year ago I was still wondering whether I’d made a mistake trying to follow my passion and maybe I should slink back to law and try my luck there – I’m glad I didn’t. It goes to show what perseverance can do. Most goals are by definition difficult to achieve, but hopefully a few of you out there will gain hope that it is possible to do what you want to do, as long as you’re smart about it, make sure you build the right skills, understand the realities of what you’re getting into and are prepared to work your ass off. Getting your foot in the door is only the very first step.

I wasn’t sure whether to post this in the first place, considering I don’t really have anything particularly new or interesting to say about this that isn’t already in the press. Much as I’d love to release every bit of info I’ve got on the game we’ve got in development, I can’t, for obvious reasons! So to be honest, this more of a personal post – a sharing of some my excitement with all you dear readers. However, what I can promise is that as additional info is released to the public, I will make sure I collect the updates here. It’s not like anyone would be able to stop me. As soon as info comes out, I will probably be on here typing so fast I’ll wear my fingers down so they look like tiny little Hobbit fingers. Ok, so maybe that last part was slightly exaggerated, but you get the picture.

Obviously this post is more along the lines of ‘BLARRRGHHH! I’M SO GLAD I CAN FINALLY TELL YOU GUYS ABOUT THIS!!!’ than actually any useful info of any kind, so hopefully I’ll be putting up another one this week or at least write something more informative/interesting next week. I know I haven’t been great about that these days, but much as I’d love to be on here all the day, life just gets in the way sometimes! I will of course always keep posting much as my schedule allows, because I love connecting with you guys through my blog. Where else can I find awesome people who put up with my occasionally inane ramblings and strange tangents (mostly about cheese)?

2 responses to “We’re making an Assassin’s Creed game!

Leave a Reply

